Find Me Friday: Susan/Suzy!


rr logo
PD: RR’s logo states the name ‘Reece’s Rainbow’ across center, with signature 3 diagonal brush strokes in blue, pink, & green. Above & below in a circle are the words ‘Special needs adoption support’.

Update 2020:

Susan is home!


Original post:

In this series, each Friday, I want to share a different child with you who is available for adoption and listed through the adoption advocacy website Reece’s Rainbow. All the kids who are listed on RR from Sarah’s Covenant Homes, India, the focus of my previous posts, have been posted about, so now I am focusing on 1 or 2 kids or a sibling group listed on the site each Friday going forward. When more SCH kids are listed, I’ll continue to feature them!

Please note that the names used on RR are usually not the childrens’ real names, and their real names will only be shared with seriously interested families in order to protect their identity.

Today’s first featured ‘Find Me Friday’ kid is: Susan! Susan was born in March 2006, lives in an Asian country, and is waiting for her family to find her. She is eligible to be adopted by single moms as well as families!

I am eligible for a $15,000 Older Child Grant! For more information, email childinquiry@reecesrainbow.org

Additional photos of her are available from her adoption agency!

PD: Susan sits in a chair, flipping pages in a children's book, wearing a navy blue dress w/ white & red accents & her hair in 2 pigtails w/ lots of colourful clips.
Undated photo. Credit: RR

PD: Susan sits in a chair, flipping pages in a children’s book, wearing a navy blue dress w/ white & red accents & her hair in 2 pigtails w/ lots of colourful clips.

Medical about Susan

Susan was born with Down Syndrome. She has no other medical needs.

More Info about Susan

Susan is described as active and outgoing. She needs some time to be familiar with strangers, and will interact if you are familiar. She gets along with others very well! She can communicate with others on a basic level. She helps others to set the table by getting utensils out. She can walk independently and go up and down stairs alone. She can stack blocks. She is very helpful to the other kids; she will carry chairs, clean rooms, and pick up garbage from the floor.

From her host family, February 2016:

“Suzy has adjusted well to being in our home.  She initially had some anxiety during travel in our vehicle; this seems to have subsided after the first couple of day trips. We believe it may be related to not being certain where we were going, or if she would be returning to our home. At this point, after 6 days with our family, she seems comfortable with our outings, and seems to understand we will end up back at our house by the end of the day. This comfort seems to help her. She does get sleepy while riding in the car, if traveling over 45 minutes at a time. She naps, and then readily wakes up when we stop with no problems.

Suzy is staying in the bedroom with 2 of our girls, ages 11 and 8. She remembers our 8-year old, who was a close friend in [her birth country]! She has bonded well to both girls, looking to the elder as a constant guide/helper/playmate, and enjoys playing with the younger, too. The girls are often holding hands when we’re walking about during our outings. Suzy is very sweet to our youngest daughter, age 6, who is wheelchair-bound and cannot speak. She also gets along well with our 2 boys, ages 15 and 13. Suzy is an obedient child and listens to what we ask of her. She also does a good job with our hand gestures, use of English, and demonstrations with the other kids to let her know what we are asking. She is a good-natured child and has a very pleasant personality. She often giggles and laughs, and is now saying “hello” to people we pass by in the stores. She also says “bye” to people readily. She is seeming to understand us better each day, picking up on what we are saying (in English) and motioning.

Suzy is eating well. She usually eats a small breakfast, medium-sized lunch, has snacks during the day, and a larger dinner. This is by her own choosing, as we let her eat what she needs. She enjoys the Chinese food we’ve made or purchased. We have also had Chick-fil-A and made taco salad, which she liked. She favors rice, meat, and some vegetables. We had ice cream this afternoon, which she thoroughly enjoyed! We have gone to the park on a couple of occasions, to the pet store, and gone shopping. We also went to church and to an evening kids’ program. We have invited people to our house to visit, as well. She really does well in stores, and does not reach out to touch a lot of things. She stays with us in the stores very well. She liked riding in the cart for a little while.”


For more information regarding adoption in general, you can visit this site.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s