Wanting to Help


I have this problem. It’s wanting to help. Whenever I hear a sad story, I want to help. Every time I read about a person who is struggling, I want to help. Every time I see a domesticated animal walking around alone, I want to help. I work at an action agency. We work with homeless populations, low-income populations, downtrodden populations. And I always want to help.

Problem is, unless there’s an emergency situation, all I can do is refer clients to our call center, where they’re screened for help. And that can get frustrating when a person in crisis is standing right in front of you. But maybe they don’t have that eviction notice yet. Or maybe their power/water/heat/etc. hasn’t been shut off yet. And I have to tell those people that all they can do is wait til they are in crisis, and then call the call center. Unless they are emergency homeless, there’s nothing more I can do from behind my desk. We are the corporate office, the administrative site, and I can’t do anything unless they’ve called the call center or if they have an appointment. I know there’s nothing more I can do, but still here I am, wishing I could do more.

—–

That’s why I donate to Sarah’s Covenant Homes (SCH). They’re an organization in India who rescue previously abandoned children from government orphanages with the goal of either reuniting them with their birth families, facilitating local and international adoptions, or providing a permanent home on a SCH property, and chances are, if you’ve ever followed this blog, you know a little bit about them.

But still, I encourage people every day to check them out. See the good work they are doing. Donate if possible, or if they don’t have the funds for that, keep SCH in their thoughts and prayers. I may not have a lot to donate, but they are always on my mind. Every time there is a birthday in a particular home (Nikki and Tori’s home – Courage Home Purple, if you’ve followed along), I provide a birthday gift for that child, usually a birthday outfit.

An important part of SCH’s work is YOU! SCH relies on donations to keep running. Donation opportunities include child sponsors at any cost per month, from as low as $10/month. Sponsorship usually costs between $300 and $500 per child, depending on complexity of needs and which city they live in (Ongole or Hyderabad).

You can sponsor any child who needs additional funding at SCH by using the resources found here. Use these resources to get involved in other ways, such as becoming an advocate or volunteering. You can also become a medical sponsor (ideal for large groups or organizations who wish to support SCH) and donate toward monthly emergency medical expenses; or an educational sponsor and donate toward a specific on-site school. Learn about other ways to give charitably to SCH here, and check back often for additional opportunities.

You can also send gifts via Amazon India, make a one-time, general donation, pray if that is your calling, or volunteer at home or in India yourself by using these resources!

Connect with SCH: Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

As always, thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

