105 in 105, day 97: Stephanie!


Update 2017: *Stephanie has moved into a new foster home, Joy Home Pink. She attends ASB part-time, where she learns Braille and academics. She has recently learned to use a guide cane all by herself. She is blossoming and loves to play the piano, whistle, and sing. A couple of years ago, she learned to push one of her sisters in a baby swing – this was huge for her, as she couldn’t see the swing coming toward her and was a little uneasy. It took lots of courage for her to work up to pushing that swing, and I was so proud of her.

Oh, this is the day I’ve waited for since day 1 of the sponsorship campaign! Today is dear-to-me, sweet, soft-spoken *Stephanie’s day! I don’t know why, but ever since I’ve known of SCH and known of  *Stephanie, I’ve felt instantly drawn to her. And if you think it’s strange to feel drawn to someone you’ve never met in your life, that’s okay too – I couldn’t begin to tell you what it is that makes *Stephanie so special to me. Maybe it is her kind and gentle heart. Maybe it is the fact that she loves to sing, something I’m quite terrible at and will only do in my car or when home alone. I don’t know what it is, but I know *Stephanie is special.

*Stephanie is 7 years old, though she looks much older to me. Her smile lights up a room and I would love nothing more than to be graced with its presence at least once in my lifetime. I hope that one day I get to experience a visit to SCH first-hand, and the first thing I want to do when I arrive is tell *Stephanie she’s been loved from afar since the day I read about her on Sarah’s old blog. She attends a local School for the Blind, where *Jeanette (featured day 56 and also blind) attends with her!

*Stephanie looks like such a beautiful and special girl. *Stephanie has also recently been coming out of her shell!  She moved into a family-style home and become much more comfortable with speaking to others.

Cassie, who has spent time with Stephanie, describes her best:

I remember when I first came to volunteer, and Stephanie was very shy and quiet. She would not talk to anyone. Recently, she has become brave and is willing to talk to people. Stephanie always has a sweet smile on her face. Ever since she moved to a smaller, family style home, Stephanie has been so happy and is opening up more and more!

 

Do you see what love can do? I just want to hug her! A few years ago, *Stephanie was afraid to speak… now, she feels comfortable talking with those around her! This really is a special gift, because many people never come out of their shell like *Stephanie has and become comfortable with interacting with the world around them – I know I’ve struggled with this in the past. Maybe that is why I feel such a connection to a girl I’ve never met. She has such a sweet, dainty voice, as Sarah describes it.

I really hope for the best for *Stephanie, and because I can’t afford to support her financially, I want to SHARE her story! I hope this gets *Stephanie one step closer to full sponsorship, because she is fully worthy and deserves it!

Sponsorship ensures that *Stephanie gets proper nutrition and clean drinking water, medical intervention should she ever need it including doctor’s visits, ayah/nurses/foster parents, a safe place to sleep, and pretty dresses to make her feel like the most special girl in the world, plus much more than you could ever imagine. Please, please consider sponsoring *Stephanie.

If you can’t afford to give financially, please SHARE HER STORY! Spread the word near and far, so that others may fall in love with this extraordinary little girl as I have – someone who can actually provide the funds to get her to full sponsorship status.

You can sponsor any child who needs additional funding at SCH by using the resources found here. Use these resources to get involved in other ways, such as becoming an advocate or volunteering. You can also become a medical sponsor (ideal for large groups or organizations who wish to support SCH) and donate toward monthly emergency medical expenses; or an educational sponsor and donate toward a specific on-site school. Learn about other ways to give charitably to SCH here, and check back often for additional opportunities.

From her sponsorship page:

Name:  Stephanie

Age: 7

Birth Date: December 2004

Date to SCH: December 2009

Other Details About Me: I am blind. I attend school, and am sweet, smiley, and soft-spoken. I like to sing!

Connect with SCH: Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Spread the word, sponsor a child!  Sponsor *Stephanie, and remember, it takes a village 🙂

Leave a Reply

