105 in 105, day 30: Promise!


Update 2017: *Promise has recently moved house with a group of girls from Jubilee. In order to achieve a better caregiver to child/young adult ratio, some of the girls from Jubilee Home have moved into Faith Home (follow the link to meet all the girls, as well as donate to startup costs for moving into this new apartment!). She attends on-site school in her home, where she has music class and is included in other activities.

*Promise loves to dance to worship music and to spin in circles. She makes a number of sounds, which former foster mothers call singing – whistling, humming, and making a long ‘s’ sound! She has come such a long way since coming to SCH, receiving multiple surgeries and medical interventions to help improve her quality of life and reduce her pain level. *Promise has recently lost some sponsors and now needs $250/month. Sponsor her here. Can we get her back to fully sponsored!?

Update 2015: *Promise has transitioned from Nikki and Tori’s foster home to a new home with foster father, mother, 3 sisters, and other older foster sisters who are closer to her age than Nikki & Tori’s kids.

Update: Here is what repeat volunteer and former foster mom, Nikki, had to day about *Promise:

It’s *Promise’s day! I feel a very real and deep connection with *Promise. She is a sweet and gentle spirit, and is someone who seems to return to my mind on days when I feel weak. She lives life in a way that inspires me. I wrote this [on my blog]: “*Promise is one of those kids I have been spending time with. *Promise is about thirteen years old. She is blind, has cerebral palsy, scoliosis, and a host of issues related to her kidneys and bladder that leave her catheterized. After we left on our last trip, *Promise was very, very sick for a long time. It’s nothing short of a miracle that she is still here today.

Today, it was hard to get *Promise to smile. *Promise is mobile, so I took her hand and walked around the Home with her. I rubbed her back and brushed her hair into a little pigtail. I tickled her and gave her kisses, but couldn’t get a smile out of her. We sat down on the bed, and one of the other little girls came and sat on my lap. I told her to go play with the other kids, and sent her down the hall to where the group of girls were sitting. *Ginger is a mobile child who gets tons of attention and love, and I was trying to make *Promise feel special.

I scooped *Promise up on the bed beside me and put her in my lap, and then *Ginger starting crying, jealous that *Promise had taken the spot on my lap. All my tickles and kisses couldn’t get a smile out of her, but in that moment, *Promise started laughing joyfully. Whether it was because I had put her in my lap, or because she thought it was funny that I had sent *Ginger away and she was crying, I am not sure, but it sure made me smile!! (Don’t worry, I was sure to find *Ginger later, to play with her before I left. I don’t think her feelings were too injured!)

*Promise has had a really rough life. She has always struggled health-wise and has been sick most of her life. I know my thirty minutes of special attention won’t change that, but I hope I brightened her day, and I know that she brightened mine.

Wow, I can’t believe it’s already day 30 of this campaign! I’m rather disappointed I wasn’t able to get home earlier to share the story of this amazing girl sooner.

Today’s child of the day for the sponsorship campaign is a special 14-year-old named *Promise – named so because God has promised to look after her even through all the hardships, pain, and trauma she has been through in her short life.

*Promise came from the government orphanage to SCH very sick, and with a host of diagnoses that desperately required medical care. *Promise has cerebral palsy, an intellectual disability, spina bifida, and is blind – but she is also described as very quiet, and one of the sweetest girls you will ever meet. She can often be found giggling, smiling, and doing her own little dance! Her spina bifida has been surgically corrected, and she has also had surgeries to correct other special needs.

She was in and out of the hospital quite frequently for a long period of time after she arrived at SCH. Why did she have to wait so long to get the treatment she needed? The government home took her diagnosis of intellectual ability and decided that she was not worth helping. But *Promise IS worthy, and of so much more than just basic medical care. Sarah saw this – she saw it in all the original 70 children that the government orphanage had labeled ‘not worth helping’, and to date has removed every special needs child from that government orphanage, including beautiful *Promise.

*Promise has her own cute version of dancing, which involves swaying, shuffling and stomping her feet, and giggling – it’s precious. Don’t let her challenges look like a laundry list – she is really an extraordinarily spirited young lady. Even after all that, she is STILL here, and she is STILL smiling and laughing! *Promise has some of the most beautiful, long eyelashes I’ve ever seen! She has aged out of the adoption system in India, which means she’ll be happily spending the rest of her life with SCH, receiving around the clock care, physiotherapy, medicine, food, and LOVE!

*Promise is fully sponsored. This beautiful gem of a girl certainly deserves it! Oh, how I would love to have the opportunity to spend even just a few minutes of my life with *Promise…

From her sponsorship page:

Name:  Promise

Age: 14

Birth Date: September 1997

Date to SCH: March 2009

Other Details About Me: I have Cerebral Palsy, Spina Bifida, and an Intellectual Disability. I am also blind.

Spread the word, sponsor a child!

An important part of SCH’s work is YOU! SCH relies on donations to keep running. Donation opportunities include child sponsors at any cost per month, from as low as $10/month. Sponsorship usually costs between $300 and $500 per child, depending on complexity of needs and which city they live in (Ongole or Hyderabad).

You can sponsor any child who needs additional funding at SCH by using the resources found here. Use these resources to get involved in other ways, such as becoming an advocate or volunteering. You can also become a medical sponsor (ideal for large groups or organizations who wish to support SCH) and donate toward monthly emergency medical expenses; or an educational sponsor and donate toward a specific on-site school. Learn about other ways to give charitably to SCH here, and check back often for additional opportunities.

*A note about names: SCH uses online nicknames for the children in order to protect their identity, per Indian governmental guidelines which state that children in care may not have identifying photos of them on the internet, as well as no identifying information such as birth name, place of origin, etc.

You can also send gifts via Amazon India, make a one-time, general donation, pray if that is your calling, or volunteer at home or in India yourself by using these resources!

Connect with SCH: Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Leave a Reply

