Views on Sexual Orientation


Originally posted 11 April 2010 @ 10:05 pm

This was from a conversation I had with a friend recently. She said:

This guy in my psych class said gay people can just go away somewhere else. I wonder how he’d feel if he knew a gay person sits behind him…

This was my response.

I find it rather funny when someone says something to this effect.

People will have their own opinions, and I can respect that; but there is no need to bash someone for their sexual orientation, or for that matter, race, gender, religion, social status, disability, or any other denomination, just because they are different. Some people are just intimidated by lives that do not mirror their own. You cannot tell if someone is gay just by looking at them, the same as you cannot tell someone’s birth date just by observing.

Sometimes I am inclined to ask, “Where do you suggest all the gay people go? It’s not like the gay community is a small population, or anything.” But I keep my mouth shut, because I have the decency to keep my opinions to myself, you know? I guess I just do not understand some people. It does not matter if you are gay, straight, bisexual, pansexual, asexual, transgender, polyamorous, non-binary, or any other orientation ; people are just people, and we are all beautiful.

I’d just like to elaborate on this topic. Being a bisexual pansexual person myself, I have always felt like people are just people; every person should be treated equally.

There should be no distinction between the way anyone is treated; no discrimination on the basis of race, religion, sexual orientation, gender, disability, capacity, social standing, ethnicity, or any other form of ‘measuring’ our place in society. Labels are hurtful, and discrimination is pointless. I am a strong believer in equal opportunities for all the people on Mother Earth. Everyone deserves respect. Personally, I do not think sexuality is a choice, I believe it is something a person is born with; even so, orientation should be no one’s business but your own, and who you share information with should be your choice.

Leave a Reply

