Death Comes Softly…


Originally posted 06 August 2010 @ 11:49 pm

From the little information I’ve been able to gather, a former classmate of mine was killed in a tragic accident today.

A news article claimed he laid down in the right lane at the exit near his home and waited to be run over; other stories state he was drunk, got out of his friend’s car, traveled across two streets, accidentally walked on to the freeway, then was hit. He was 19 years old.

I don’t know what to believe. I never personally new him, but a lot of people did. There is a scary reality in this, and no matter how paranoid and deluded this sounds, to me, this accident just cements the fact that no one is ever safe. At least, not from themselves. Truth is, I don’t know the story behind my classmate’s death. I don’t know the facts, and I don’t have the answers. But I do know that the world is a dangerous place. Life is resilient, but it is also, at times, very fragile. Events like this really make me think.

(News article posted here, on the Detroit News Herald website.)

Leave a Reply

